MIAGD: make it a great day

[Darin’s Log, Stardate 2016]

Upon wakening, one of the first things I noticed on my Facebook newsfeed was a photograph posted by Bellbrook band director, Barb Siler.

14238334_10202254111311067_803526868504196115_n

Ahhh…. Barb must have turned fifty years old, today.  Hmmm….  I thought Barb was born in December, sharing the day with someone else I know.

Since, I would address it later, I went on with my morning.

I gave my on-line class their break at 9:45 AM, and scrolled through my list of birthday  celebrants.  I sent out the birthday greetings, and noticed Barb was not on the list.

I went to her page to send her a birthday greeting, still questioning a September vs December birthday.

More interesting discoveries…. no one was posting birthday greetings to Barb?  What?

[If you are presuming that these lack of Trekkie experiences in any way impede my ability to command this ship/blog, you are mistaken.] 

Barb is a devoted, and deeply respected, beloved music educator, and colleague to many.  Even her Bellbrook band colleague, Chris Foster, had not offered his typical “solfeggio” birthday greeting.

I went to Barb’s “About” section, verifying her birthday IS in December.

Then, I saw Debbie McCutcheon’s new, temporary profile photograph noting the 50th anniversary of STAR TREK.

[If you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.]

Mystery solved.

[I intend to assist in the effort to reestablish birthday communication with Barbfleet this December.].

So, while you are living long, and prospering, don’t forget to make it a great day, Vulcan Folks!

[I am now a member of an endangered species known as Non-Trekkie.]

