For a week I’ve been pumped about today’s events at Dayton’s historic Woodland Cemetery.  The annual Woodland Days – a walking tour of the cemetery where guests meet various actors portraying Dayton’s exciting heritage – and a ceremony celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Civil War.  My good friend, Bob Koogler, a President Lincoln re-enactor, was scheduled to speak.

Quintin and I arrived at 12:15pm as the sky began dripping with a light rain.  I was determined to use my new camera, and fortunately, the rain blew over rather quickly.  However, it was still a bit on the chilly side.

At first we joined the tour, but decided to strike out on our own after visiting Erma Bombeck at her gravesite.

Woodland Cemetery is always a rush for me!  It is about ten minutes from my home, and I visit at least once a month.  My favorite spot – one of many – is the pinnacle where you can look out over the Miami Valley.  Before the large gazebo was built, I often climbed the point to eat my lunch with Flyer at my side.  It is a breath-taking view, and the months of Fall and Spring are absolutely gorgeous.

We covered the entire cemetery – as usual – and stopped to speak with some of the volunteers portraying Woodland’s more well-known inhabitants as they awaited the round of tours.

Fortunately, we arrived just in time to see President Lincoln, represented by Centerville’s own, Bob Koogler, speak about his newly written “Emancipation Proclamation,” which goes into effect January 1, 1863.  Bob has been a dear friend for many years, and we have enjoyed many wonderful productions together.  Bob’s wife, Sarah, was the very first person I met when I moved to Dayton in 1990.  Sarah often accompanies Bob on his Lincoln outings, and was there today as The First Lady, Mary Todd Lincoln.  The President and First Lady were guests of honor for the Civil War ceremony, an laid the wreath at the foot of the soldiers’ monument.

Despite the weather’s gloominess, it was still a grand day at Woodland Cemetery, and spending time with Quinny.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

