Many years ago, I learned this was a favorite of Mr. Joshua Logan, and it has become my favorite each September.  SEPTEMBER SONG, composed by  Kurt Weill, with lyric by Maxwell Anderson, was introduced in 1938 in the Broadway musical, KNICKERBOCKER’S HOLIDAY, directed by Mr. Logan.  The past several years I’ve become quite fond of Willie Nelson’s version and tend to listen to this the most.

Each September 1st, I listen to a recording of this song, and reflect on the past year as my birthday month begins.  This past year was one filled with tremendous joys, incredible advancements, some difficult but vital choices, and sadly, some deaths of incredible folks who had an impact on my life.

It is the end of September.  The days of this past wonderful Spring and Summer are now filed away in photo albums, and memory.

And the days dwindle down…

SEPTEMBER SONG

Lyrics by Maxwell Anderson

Oh, it’s a long, long while from May to December
But the days grow short when you reach September
When the autumn weather turns the leaves to flame
One hasn’t got time for the waiting game

Oh, the days dwindle down to a precious few
September, November
And these few precious days I’ll spend with you
These precious days I’ll spend with you

gfyjg

