Saturday at Noon, Quintin was already over at the high school for marching band practice.  I took the time to complete some errands around the house, and yard, and then headed North to Tipp City for the first marching band competition of this season.

Aaron Jacobs met me at the contest, and we got to enjoy several competing bands in Fairmont’s class.  Fairmont took the field with this year’s show, “Waterworks.”  The results for Fairmont’s marching band were:

1st place in Class AA

Overall General Effect

Overall Visual

Overall Music

Grand Champion

Qualification for OMEA State Finals

The cool air of the night had lulled me to sleep quite easily, and I slept soundly.  Sunday morning, and early afternoon, was relaxing, and quiet.

At 3:30pm we were seated next to Debbie McCutcheon under the ‘welcome tent’ for GuitarFest 2012.  What an incredible collection of some of the most outstanding guitarists from the Miami Valley, and beyond.  Quintin was in heaven.  In fact, he wanted to stay when I had to leave at 7:00pm so I could return home to teach a lesson.  He stayed, and Debbie took him to Marion’s Pizza with the rest of the crew, and I picked him up following my lesson.  I am so grateful to the performers for reaching out to my son with all their talent, and so many different styles and genres.  I so appreciate these extraordinary musicians!  THANK YOU for sharing!

What a great weekend to celebrate music!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Marching Band photos courtesy of Pati Rogers

GFYJG

