This feels like the official last weekend of summer for us.

  • Quintin will have marching band percussion rehearsals from 9:00am-9:00pm, Monday through Friday
  • The following week, the last week of July, is marching band camp
  • The first week of August is my prep for the fall teaching schedule – and the hectic swarm of juggling schedules with schools on different calendars;
    • marching band’s daily six hour rehearsals will be in full swing – or should I say, “full swim” since their show’s title is “Water Works”
  • The second week of August is show choir camp week for me
    • Quintin continues with daily marching band rehearsals
  • The third week of August is the start of school, and my fall teaching schedule

We will celebrate this weekend with a trip to Indiana.  Friday we’ll spend time with the family, and Saturday Quintin and I will spend the entire day at Indiana Beach Amusement Park.

Indiana Beach is one of my favorite past-times.  It is not spread out like Kings Island, and the amusement park on the peninsula just has a different, and very neat appeal.

I remember going with my parents when I was a very small child, and twice with my Uncle Garry.  One weekend, Uncle Garry, my father, my cousin Todd, and I spent the entire weekend there, and stayed in one of the cottages.  The best ride – which was actually the scariest – was the haunted house.  Just as the ride got to the end, your car turned and right before you was a huge facade of a semi-truck, flashing its lights and honking its horn. Uncle Garry laughed – quite often – how he could hear Todd and me screaming.  And it is not lost on me that of my uncle, father and cousin, I am the only currently surviving… one of those sharp moments of awareness…

There was another visit to Indiana Beach with Uncle Garry, my cousin Todd, and my new aunt, Jenny.  Todd and I left our favorite ride – the haunted house – and found Uncle Garry and Aunt Jenny eating a strange arrangement of ground beef, cheese, onion, sauces and lettuce, all contained within a half shell of a large crunchy chip.  Aunt Jenny explained that it was called a taco.  I tried my first taco at Indiana Beach, and every time I return, I always make a visit to the taco stand.  I love saluting memories, and especially ones associated with wonderful loved ones.

Several years ago, my entire family spent a fun-filled day there.  My nephew, Parker, was probably 2 years old, and Stacia was pregnant with Freddie (who is now 4 1/2 years).  On that trip, I actually agreed to bungee jump over the lake – and it was a blast!

In 2009, I took my son, Jose, there for the day.  We were one of the first to enter the park that morning, and one of the very last to leave.

It is just the neatest place!

