Approximately 40 years ago, my grandparents took me to Indianapolis to visit the Indiana War Memorial, and we rode an elevator to the top of The Soldiers & Sailors Monument‘s observation deck.

Today, with just fifteen minutes to spare, Quintin and I traveled to the monument’s deck, and took in the sites of Indianapolis, one of my favorite cities since childhood. Since I am approximately the same age as my grandparents when they took me to the monument, I decided that we should descend the monument via the very long staircase as my grandparents and I did so long ago.

It was nice to retrace steps of a fond memory involving two of my favorite folks.

Before leaving the city, Quintin and I dined at Shapiro’s Deli, one of my favorite haunts when visiting the city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

