It’s been a quiet, relaxing day.

Some of the commercials and cards indicate, through artwork, that dads should be relaxing, eating breakfast in bed, and doing whatever pleases them.

I woke early, and by 8:00am, was busy creating more wooden barriers for the backyard to protect plants, mainly my hosta field. The plan originated around 6:00pm the previous evening, and I completed a front row of short fencing to guard the hosta field. However, I had enough wood left over that I created a complete barrier, and a free-standing fence for one of my other plants that Navi seems to favor.  I also purchased a large tub to plant flowers, and transplant some items growing poorly in other areas of the yard.

Following a shower, and some attention to a nice blister on the palm of my hand, I devoured my lunch, did some odds and ends around the house, and took, what I thought would be an hour long nap… sadly, I slept 2 additional hours.  I was hoping to head down to Carillon Park to hear the summer band comprised of high school students.

Upon waking I was disappointed that the much promised, much needed rain, had not arrived.  Within twelve minutes, the skies broke loose with a short, torrential soaking!  The air is crisp, and clean smelling, and the cool breeze maintains a constant “ssshhhhh” as the leaves dance along with the accompaniment of the wind chimes on my deck.

I don’t believe the evening will be anything exciting. Quintin continues to have a great time with our family in Fowler, Indiana, and will return Friday.

Happy Father’s Day to all those who have served as role models, and inspired me throughout the years.

