My first year in 7th grade band at Elwood Junior High School, we were scheduled with the 8th grade band on the first day.  The saxophones were seated in front of the trumpets, and I was seated with 8th grade trumpets, Mick Helpling, Darrell Whitkamper, Brad Gillum and Dana Miller, directly behind me.  Since this was the first class with the 8th graders, I was excited, but very nervous.

As Miss Simmons gave instructions prior to warm-ups, I laid my alto saxophone across my lap.  I heard something hit the floor, but paid little attention.  Suddenly, I heard Mick Helpling say, “Look!  A Twinkie fell out of that kid’s saxophone.”

I was stunned.  Could the sound I heard and the comment from Mick have anything in common?  I allowed some time to pass, and with all the gumption I could muster, I casually looked to my left.

Sure enough, there was an individually wrapped Twinkie next to my foot.

I began sweating buckets, my stomach began churning, and I, always the good little band student, was blocking out everything Miss Simmons was saying.  I honestly cannot remember if I picked up the Twinkie, or let it remain on the floor.  Knowing my love for Twinkies, I doubt I left it there.  I don’t recall the 8th grade trumpets saying anything after that; if they did, I was probably too much in shock to have heard.

When I got home that day, Mother was standing in the kitchen.  I asked if she had stuck a Twinkie down the bell of my saxophone.  She tried to deny it at first, but finally gave way to guilty chuckles.  The only other culprit would have been my grandmother.

Thirty-five years later, I am still teased about the Twinkie in the saxophone.  Even this week, a student brought one to his lesson with the hopes of being able to place it in my saxophone.

