The sun has set, on this, our last day in Fowler.  The two day respite was much needed, and greatly appreciated.

It began as a surprise for Mother whose birthday we celebrated Friday, April 6th.  Destin presented Mother with a reason to come up to Fowler on Friday, and found himself making up reasons for her to remain through the weekend.  He succeeded.

The pets, Quintin, and I were loaded into the car at 12:05pm, Friday, and we pulled into Benton Central Jr-Sr High School’s parking lot at 3:00pm.  We saw several friends in the main office, and spent a few minutes with the band director, Mike Richardson.

Mother was, indeed, surprised to see Quintin and I walk into Destin & Stacia’s house.

The nephews and niece are as adorable as ever, and I took plenty of photos.  I also captured a number of photos of Fowler, a community with which I have fallen in love.

Mother showed us her new house which will be ready by Memorial Day. In a few months, our family will no longer be residents of Elwood, Indiana after nearly 150 years, and Madison County for 201 years. Still, my heart will remain with my beloved community.

We spent time gathered around the table for meals, and laughter… an Easter egg hunt for the community… me chasing Navi and Chief away from Wallpe cousins’ ducks… me watching Navi and Chief romping in the meadow and creek near the pond… driving around the area to take pictures… and capturing many family moments on the camera…

The weekend has passed by too swiftly.  However, I am relaxed, refreshed, and revived. Destin & Stacia’s home in the country is my spiritual retreat, and I looked forward to the too few times I get to visit.  I sleep like a baby in the one bedroom I always claim, and Stacia’s cooking is always food for my body, and soul.

Tomorrow morning we shall pack up, load the dogs into the car, and return to Ohio.

What a wonderful weekend…

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

