I am enjoying a lunch of corn soup, a grilled turkey & cheese sandwich, and cucumber slices, while absorbing “Modern Marvels: Future Tech” on HISTORY CHANNEL. I enjoy most episodes on “Modern Marvels,” but this particular episode has captivated me.

All sorts of exciting things:

  • paper-thin television
  • hydrogen-fueled vehicle
  • brain-computer interface
  • robotic soldiers
  • commercialization of space
  • Mars base-station
  • walls that can change color by pressing a button
  • framed screens that are computerized and can pull up photos much like your computer
  • telekinetic energy powers

In my life of forty-seven years I have seen tremendous advancements in technology. What an exciting world it has become with so many technological inventions. And I know there will be even more, and more to come.

My great-grandfather, John William Garrett Clary, was born in 1898. When he was five years old the Wright Brothers flew the first airplane. By the time he was ten years old the automobile was becoming as popular as a horse drawn vehicle, and the telephone was moving into most homes. Grandpa Garrett saw the advent of radio, motion picture, and eventually, television.

When I was five years old, I was seated next to Grandpa Garrett on his Davenport in his home on North 9th Street in Elwood, Indiana. One July day we watched Neil Armstrong walk on the moon. Naturally, at age five I did not consider what this must have meant to my great-grandfather, but as I grew older I realized just how much his world changed over 99 years. What an exciting world he knew that seemed to grow, technologically, by leaps and bounds.

I can remember the excitement of my grandparents getting their first color-television, and microwave. They seemed pretty hip to be accepting of newfangled appliances! My Uncle Ron bought me my first calculator in 1974, and I thought I was so cool by owning a little device that could add, subtract, multiply and divide! My uncle also gave me my first 8-track tape player, and later, a cassette player. Life became even more exciting in 6th grade when I got “Pong” for Christmas. As a child, there was always this incredible feverish thrill when the JCPenney and Sears’ Christmas catalogs arrived. I can remember spending hours looking through the toy section, marveling at the plethora of new toys, many considered technological advancements.

What an exciting world we have known, continue to know, and prepare to embrace. God bless all the minds who bring us these newfangled innovations!

“Space, the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Her five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.”
opening for STAR TREK

