Oscar Hammerstein’s original draft for “The Sound of Music” from THE SOUND OF MUSIC.

I hear the echo of a far off chime
As it flies from a church on a breeze.
I hear the clatter of a cloud of birds
As they rise from the lake to the trees.
Today the sky is filled with music,
The sound of music,
The summer music.
And when the sky is filled with music
My heart wants to hear every song that it hears.
A dog is barking and a brown bird calls
As he swings on the branch of a pine.
A brook is singing on the way to the sea
With a faith that I wish could be mine.
Today the earth is filled with music
The sound of music,
Unwritten music.
The sounds of summer on a hillside
Will still be the same in a thousand years.
I hear the silence at the end of the day
When the sun finds a hill and departs.
And in the silence you can hear a sound
Like the beat of a few million hearts.
And now the night is filled with music,
The sound of music,
Of starlight music.
And when the night is filled with music
My heart wants to sing,
My heart wants to sing,
My heart wants to sing every song it hears.

