7:35am, Jose walked out the door to begin his fifth year in Kettering Public Schools. Today he starts his sophomore year.

Jose is always normally up by 6:50am, but this morning I realized he was still in bed at 7:10am. By 7:25am he was bouncing into my room, following his shower, and showing off what he thought would be a new hair style for the start of the year; however, he returned it to the usual before heading out the door.

Today, only the freshmen and sophomore students attend, to be joined by the true upper-classmen tomorrow.

For me, the new teaching schedule began yesterday, and all ran smoothly. Mondays I will teach from 2:00pm until 8:30pm, my longest day. Tuesdays are slim – at the moment, with Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays filled.

Today, I will write from 9:00am-Noon, but I may get started early as there is nothing pressing for the day which requires my immediate attention. After eating, napping, and walking, I will write some more until Jose returns home to chatter happily about his first day. It is hard telling how many of his friends the door will belch out. Tonight also begins the weekly band rehearsals on Tuesday and Thursday evenings.

The cool temperatures feel more like late October, but how welcome they are after that heat wave of last week.

